Open In App

South American Countries with their Capitals

Last Updated : 29 Sep, 2022
Like Article

In SSC, Banking, LIC, Railways, and other competitive exams, the General Awareness section plays an important role nowadays since it is a very scoring section. In this article, we will cover one of the topics of this section: “Countries and their Capitals”. This is a very easy topic; if students read it comprehensively they will score good marks and the possibility of their selection will increase.

South America: An Introduction

  • This continent lies in the western hemisphere. It is the 4th largest continent. About 2/3  of this continent lies in the tropical region, south of the equator. 
  • It is bordered by the Caribbean Sea to the northwest and north, the Atlantic Ocean to the northeast, east and southeast, and the Pacific Ocean to the west. 
  • It lies between the Atlantic and the Pacific. 
  • It is connected to  North America by the Isthmus of Panama. 
  • The island of Tierra del Fuego is located at the southern end of this continent and the southern end of this island is called “Cape Horn”.
  • This continent is home to the Cordillera de Los Andes  (Fold Mountain), which is the second-highest mountain range in the world after the Himalayas. 
  • Mount Aconcagua is the highest peak on this continent.
  •  The Bolivian Altiplano lies between the Andes. 
  • This continent is home to Mount Cotopaxi, which is the highest active volcano in the world.9. The capital of Ecuador, i.e. Quito, is the highest capital city in the world. 
  • This continent’s Easter Island is an isolated Polynesian island famous for its mysterious history and gigantic stone statues. 
  • Brazil is the largest country in South America. 
  • Main rivers: Amazon, Sao Francisco, Madeira, Magdalena, Black River,  Paraguay,  Tocantins, Ucayali, Xingú, Orinoco and Paraná. 
    The Amazon is the largest river and the second longest in the world. It rises in the Andes and, after passing through Brazil, flows into the Atlantic Ocean. 
  • Anaconda is a species of python found in the Amazon Basin.
  • Great Lakes: Lake Titicaca, Quechua, Brokopondo Reservoir, Guri (Artificial), Lake Maracaibo, and Lake Valencia. 
  • The highest navigable lake, ie. Lake Titicaca (on the border between Bolivia and Peru) is located in the Bolivian Altiplano.

List of South American Countries and their Capitals: 

Serial No.



1 Argentina Buenos Aires
2 Bolivia  Sucre
3 Brazil  Brasilia
4 Chile  Santiago
5 Colombia  Bogota
6 Ecuador  Quito
7 Falkland Islands (UK)  Stanley
8 French Guiana (France)  Cayenne
9 Guyana  Georgetown
10 Paraguay  Asuncion
11 Peru Lima Lima
12 Suriname  Paramaribo
13 Uruguay  Montevideo
14 Venezuela  Caracas

Like Article
Suggest improvement
Share your thoughts in the comments

Similar Reads