Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Difference between AIX and AmigaOS 4

View Discussion
Improve Article
Save Article
  • Last Updated : 15 Jul, 2020
View Discussion
Improve Article
Save Article

1. AIX :
AIX is a series of proprietary operating systems which is provided by IBM. AIX stands for Advanced Interactive eXecutive. Initially it was designed for the IBM RT PC RISC workstation and later it was used for various hardware platforms like IBM RS/6000 series, PowerPC-based systems, System-370 mainframes, PS-2 personal computers and Apple Network Server. It is one of the five commercial operating systems that have versions certified to UNIX 03 standard of The Open Group. The first version of AIX was launched in 1986. The latest stable version of AIX is 7.2.

2. AmigaOS 4 :
AmigaOS 4 is a line of Amiga operating systems which is provided by Hyperion Entertainment. It is used for running PowerPC microprocessors. Its design is majorly based on the AmigaOS 3.1 by Commodore. It is partial based on AmigaOS 3.9 by German company Haage and Partner. It is majorly written in C language. It belongs to the AmigaOS family. The first version of AmigaOS 4 was launched in 2004. The latest stable version of AmigaOS 4 is 4.1 Final Edition. It is also known as OS4 or AOS4.

Difference between AIX and AmigaOS 4 :

1.It was developed and is owned by IBM.It was developed by Hyperion Entertainment.
2.It was launched in 1986.It was launched in 2004.
3.Current stable version is 7.2.Current stable version is 4.1 Final Edition.
4.Its kernel type is Monolithic with modules.Its kernel type is Microkernel.
5.Its target system type is Server, NAS and workstation.Its target system types are workstation and personal computers.
6.Computer architectures supported by AIX are POWER, PowerPC-AS, PowerPC and Power ISA.Computer architectures supported by AmigaOS 4 is PowerPC.
7.File systems supported by AIX are JFS, JFS2, ISO 9660, UDF, NFS, SMBFS and GPFS.File systems supported by AmigaOS 4 are OFS, FFS, SFS, PFS, JXFS, FAT, ISO 9660, UDF and SMBFS.
8.It has preferred license Proprietary.It has the preferred license of Proprietary.
9.Its update management is Service Update Management Assistant (SUMA).Its update management is AmiUpdate which is almost not needed.
10.The non-native APIs are not supported by its subsystems.The non-native APIs supported by its subsystems are BSD subsets.
11.Its native APIs are SysV/POSIX.Its native APIs are Proprietary.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :

Start Your Coding Journey Now!