Skip to content
Related Articles
Open in App
Not now

Related Articles

Difference between Spanning Tree Protocol (STP) and Rapid Spanning Tree Protocol (RSTP)

Improve Article
Save Article
  • Last Updated : 27 Oct, 2021
Improve Article
Save Article

1. Spanning Tree Protocol (STP) :  
STP is also known as spanning tree protocol is a layer 2 (Data link layer) protocol, it runs on switches and bridges. The IEEE standard of STP is 802.1D. STP is a feature used to prevent loops when using redundant switches. For example, we have three switches they are all linked together and without STP a loop could form causing several problems like it can clog up the network, broadcast storm, etc. eventually it can even lead to failure of the switches.

2. Rapid Spanning Tree Protocol (RSTP) :  
Rapid spanning tree protocol(RDTP) is an enhanced version of the Spanning Tree Protocol. The IEEE standard of RSTP is 802.1w. There are many similarities between STP and RSTP, RSTP is backward-compatible with STP. It averts network loops by blocking unnecessary ports.

Difference between STP and RSTP :





Its IEEE standard is 802.1D.Its IEEE standard is 802.1W.


In STP only the root bridge sends BPDU (Bridge protocol data unit) and it is transferred by others.In RSTP all bridges can forward BPDUs.


STP has three port roles (i.e., Root Port, Designated Port, Blocked Port).RSTP has four-port roles (i.e., Root Port, Designated Port, Alternate Port, Backup Port).


STP has five port states (i.e., Forwarding, Learning, Listening, Blocking, Disabled).  RSTP has three port states (i.e., Forwarding, Learning, Discarding).


It doesn’t have any link type.It has Two link types i.e., Shared link and Point to point link.


STP provides slower network convergence in response.RSTP provides significantly faster network convergence.


Flag bits used in STP are Bit 0 for TCN (Topology Change Notification) and Bit 7 for TCA (Topology Change Acknowledgement).Flag bits used in RSTP are Bit 0 for TCN, Bit 1 for Proposal, Bit 2 and 3 for Port role, Bit 4 for Learning, Bit 5 for forwarding, Bit 6 for Agreement, and Bit 7 for TCN.
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Related Articles

Start Your Coding Journey Now!