Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Improve Article

What is SDLC model and its Phases

  • Last Updated : 29 Oct, 2019

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a frame work that defines activity that are performed during software development process.

There are 6 phases in SDLC model as given below.

Attention reader! Don’t stop learning now. Get hold of all the important CS Theory concepts for SDE interviews with the CS Theory Course at a student-friendly price and become industry ready.


1. Requirement:
In this phase all the requirement are collected from customer/client. They are provided in a document called Businessmen requirement specification (BRS) and System requirement specification (SRS). All the detail are discuss with customer/client in detail.

2. Design:
It has two steps:

  • (a). High level design (HLD): It give the architecture of software product.
  • (b). Low level design (LLD): It describe how each and every feature in the product should work and every component.

3. Implementation:

  • This is the longest phase.
  • This phase consists of Front end + Middle ware + Back-end
  • In font end: development coding are done even SEO setting are done
  • In Middle ware: They connect both font end and back end
  • In back-end: database is created

4. Testing:
Testing is carried out to verify the entire system. The aim of the tester is to find out the gaps and defects within the system and also to check whether the system is running according to the requirement of the customer/client.

5. Deployment:
After successful testing the product is delivered/deployed to the client, even client are trained how to use the product.

6. Maintenance:
Once the product has been delivered to the client a task of maintenance start as when the client will come up with an error the issue should be fixed from time to time.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :