Various Stages of WIN-WIN Spiral Model

Spiral Model generally shows the repetitive nature of the prototyping model and control proper well-defined approaches of the linear sequential model. The spiral model is also known to be a meta-model because all the other process models are included in the spiral model.

The waterfall model is also represented by the single loop of the spiral model. To develop the prototype before the establishment of the actual product, the prototyping approach is used by the spiral model. The evolutionary model is also supported by the spiral model as iterations along the spiral represent evolutionary levels, using which a complete system can be built. Risk reduction can be done in a spiral model using a prototyping approach. From the waterfall model, the systematic proper development approach is adopted.

For obtaining the project requirements, customer communication is very important and essential in the spiral model, the WIN-WIN model also suggests and supports well and proper communication with the customer. In actual practice, the process of negotiation which simply means to compromise has to be faced by the customers and developers. When both sides agree, only then successful negotiation occurs. This is called the WIN-WIN situation.

  • Customer’s win means –
    Obtaining the system that fulfill most of the requirements of customers.

  • Developer’s win means –
    Getting the work done by fulfilling the realistic requirements of customers in a given deadline and achievable budgets.

At the beginning of each pass of the spiral, the negotiation activities are carried out in a WIN-WIN spiral model.

Various activities that can be carried out in a WIN-WIN spiral model are shown in the following diagram –

  1. Identification of ‘stakeholders’.
  2. Determination of stakeholders to make great efforts to achieve or obtain a win condition.
  3. Negotiations of stakeholders struggling vigorously for win condition. Software project team conciliate for a win-win result with concern. Then determine next level objectives, constraints, and alternatives.
  4. Evaluation of the process and product and then analyzing and resolving or reducing the risks to make it easy.
  5. Defining the next level of product and process for proper working.
  6. Validation of process and product definitions is must.
  7. Reviewing of the product and giving the necessary and important comments on it.

Three anchor points are available that can be defined in the WIN-WIN spiral model that are given below –

  1. Life Cycle Objective (LCO) –
    LCO defines the objectives that are essential for activities of software engineering.
  2. Life Cycle Architecture (LCA) –
    LCO defines the software architectures that can be produced with all the objectives that are set.
  3. Initial Operational Capability (IOC) –
    IOC represent the software with all the initial required operational capabilities.

Attention reader! Don’t stop learning now. Get hold of all the important CS Theory concepts for SDE interviews with the CS Theory Course at a student-friendly price and become industry ready.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up

Check out this Author's contributed articles.

If you like GeeksforGeeks and would like to contribute, you can also write an article using or mail your article to See your article appearing on the GeeksforGeeks main page and help other Geeks.

Please Improve this article if you find anything incorrect by clicking on the "Improve Article" button below.

Article Tags :

Be the First to upvote.

Please write to us at to report any issue with the above content.