Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Replace string in SQL Server
  • Last Updated : 27 Nov, 2020

Let us suppose we need to update or replace any string value in any table, we could use the below methods –

  • Replace String in SQL Server Example :
    In below example, we have a string variable, and then we are going to replace a part of a string with a new string using the Replace Function.

SQL Server Query to Replace String –

DECLARE @String_Value varchar(50)
SET @String_Value = 'This provides free and excellent knowledge on SQL Server.'
SELECT REPLACE (@String_Value, 'This', 'Geeksforgeeks');

Output :

Geeksforgeeks provides free and excellent knowledge on SQL Server.

Let us suppose we have below table named “geek_demo” :

Name Salary City email
Ankit 24500 Delhi ankit@xyz.com
Babita 23600 Noida babita@xyz.com
Chetan 25600 Noida chetan@xyz.com
Deepak 24300 Delhi deepak@xyz.com
Isha 25900 Delhi isha@xyz.com
Khushi 24600 Noida khushi@xyz.com
Megha 25500 Noida megha@xyz.com
Parul 23900 Noida parul@xyz.com




  • Replace String Example :
    In below example, we will replace a string in SQL Server SELECT Statement using the REPLACE Function while selecting data from the SQL Server table.

SQL Server Query to replace part of a string –

SELECT TOP 1000 [Name], [Salary], [City], [email], 
REPLACE([email], 'xyz.com', 'gfg.org') AS [New EmailID]
FROM [geek_demo]

Output :

Name Salary City email New EmailID
Ankit 24500 Delhi ankit@xyz.com ankit@gfg.org
Babita 23600 Noida babita@xyz.com babita@gfg.org
Chetan 25600 Noida chetan@xyz.com chetan@gfg.org
Deepak 24300 Delhi deepak@xyz.com deepak@gfg.org
Isha 25900 Delhi isha@xyz.com isha@gfg.org
Khushi 24600 Noida khushi@xyz.com khushi@gfg.org
Megha 25500 Noida megha@xyz.com megha@gfg.org
Parul 23900 Noida parul@xyz.com parul@gfg.org


  • Replace String in SQL Example :
    In the below example, we will replace string in SQL UPDATE Statement using the REPLACE Function in Update Statement.

SQL Server Query to replace part of a string –

UPDATE [geek_demo]
SET [email] = REPLACE([email], 'xyz.com', 'gfg.org');

Result :

(8 row(s) affected)

Now let us see the Updated table –

SELECT TOP 1000 [Name], [Salary], [City], [email]
FROM [geek_demo];

Output :

Name Salary City email
Ankit 24500 Delhi ankit@gfg.org
Babita 25600 Noida babita@gfg.org
Chetan 25600 Noida chetan@gfg.org
Deepak 24300 Delhi deepak@gfg.org
Isha 25900 Delhi isha@gfg.org
Khushi 24600 Noida khushi@gfg.org
Megha 25500 Noida megha@gfg.org
Parul 23900 Noida parul@gfg.org
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :