Open In App
Related Articles

Full List of Neighbouring Countries of India

Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article

India shares a border with 9 countries and is located latitudinally in the Northern Hemisphere and longitudinally in the Eastern Hemisphere. India is established in the southern part of Asia and is the second-largest country in Southeast Asia with a land range of 15,106.7 km to 7,516.6 km of coastline.

In this article, we are going to cover A list of India’s neighbouring countries and The important specifications for each.

Neighbouring Countries of India

There total of 9 countries that share borders with India. Out of these, 7 countries share land borders with India while 2 countries share sea borders. Bhutan is the smallest neighbouring country from the land borders perspective. Here is the list of India’s neighbouring countries:

List of India’s Neighbouring Countries: Capital and Bordering States

Neighbouring Country


Bordering States



Ladakh (PoK)



West Bengal, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura and Assam



West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh & Assam



Ladakh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh


Naypyidaw, Yangon

Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur



Bihar, Uttarakhand, UP, Sikkim and West Bengal



Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujarat

Sri Lanka


Seperated by Gulf of Manner



It lies in the south-west part of India Ocean below the Lakshadweep Island

Neighbouring Countries of India Map

The below map shows the Neighbouring Countries of India:


Neighbouring Countries of India with Boundaries and Name

Neighbouring Countries of India at a Glance

1. Afghanistan

  1. Afghanistan is found in Central Asia and has an area of ​​about 6,52,230 sq. km.
  2. Agriculture is the main source of income for this country.
  3. Afghanistan is known for its fine fruits, especially pomegranates, grapes, and additionally sweet jumbo-sized melons.
  4. Major religion: Islam.
  5. Industrial activities: cotton textiles, woven carpets, handicrafts, and woollen textiles.

Important Facts about Afghanistan:

  • National animal –  Snow Leopard
  • Border Length –  106 km
  • Border –  Durand Line
  • National animal –  Snow Leopard
  • National Game –  Buzkashi
  • States/ Provinces –  34 Provinces

2. Pakistan

  1. Pakistan is an Islamic republic country located in the west of India.
  2. With a population of 21 crores, Pakistan is the fifth most populous country in the world.
  3. Pakistan has the second-largest Muslim population in the world.
  4. Pakistan is the 33rd largest country with an area of 881,913 square kilometres (340,509 sq mi).

Important Facts about Pakistan:

  • Border Length –  3323 km
  • Border –  Radcliffe Line
  • States Provinces –  4 Province  (  Punjab, Sindh, Baluchistan and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa)
  • National Game –  Hockey
  • National Animal –  Markhor

3. China

  1. China is the first largest populated country in the world
  2. China is spread over an area of ​​about 95,96,960 sq. km.
  3. The civil war in China divided China into two parts –
  • The people’s Republic of China, which are the territories governed by the socialist government established on the main Chinese territory. Under this, a large part of China comes.
  • The Republic of China – This country is made up of some other islands including Taiwan, apart from the mainland. Its headquarters is in Taiwan

Important Facts about China:

  • Border Length –  3488 km
  • Borderline – McMahon Line
  • States Provinces –  26 Provinces
  • National Game –  Table Tennis
  • National Animal- Giant Panda
  • Border Border is guarded by the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).

4. Bhutan

  1. Bhutan is a country in south-central Asia, located on the eastern ridges of the Himalayas.
  2. Bhutan is Spread over an area of 38, 394 sq. km.
  3. The population of this country follows Buddhism and Hinduism region. Mostly 77.4% followed Vajrayana Buddhism and 22.6% Hinduism.

Important Facts about Bhutan:

  • Border Length –  699 km
  • Border –  The India-Bhutan is guarded by Border Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).
  • Capital – Thimphu
  • States Provinces –  20 State
  • National Game –  Archery
  • National Animal – Takin

5. Nepal

  1. Nepal is located in the northeast of India.
  2. It is spread over an area of ​​1,47,181 sq km.
  3. The world’s highest Mount Everest peak is placed in Nepal.

Important Facts about Nepal:

  • Capital – Kathmandu 
  • Border Length – 1751 km 
  • Border – The Indo-Nepal is guarded by Border Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB).
  • States Provinces – 7 Provinces 
  • National Game –  Volleyball
  • National Animal – Cow 

6. Myanmar

  1. Myanmar, a country bordering India to the east, is also known as Burma.
  2. Myanmar is placed in the western portion of mainland South Asia.  
  3. It is spread over an area of 6,76,578 sq km.
  4. India shares a 1,643 km long border with Myanmar which touches the states of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram.

Important Facts about Myanmar:

  • Capital –  Naypyidaw
  • Border Length –  1643 km
  • Border – The border with Myanmar is guarded by the Assam Rifles (AR).
  • National Game – Chinlone 
  • National Animal –  Tiger

7. Bangladesh

  1. India and Bangladesh share one of the longest borders in the world and it covers an area of ​​1,43,998 km and has a coastline of 580 km.
  2. The Bangladeshi states, Rajshahi, Dhaka, Chittagong, Khulna, Rangpur and Sylhet, share their borders with India.
  3. India shares a 4,096-km-long border with Bangladesh which touches Assam, Tripura, Mizoram, Meghalaya and West Bengal. The boundary line between India and Bangladesh is 4096.7 km.

Important Facts about Bangladesh:

  • Capital – Dhaka 
  • Border Length –  4096.7 Km
  • Border – The border with Bangladesh is guarded by the Border Security Force (BSF).
  • State/ Province –  8 Province
  • National Game – Volleyball

8. Maldives

  1. Myanmar is placed in the Indian Ocean.
  2. It is spread over an area of 298 sq km.
  3. This country comprises more than a thousand coral islands.
  4. The predominant religion in the country is Islam.

Important Facts about Maldives:

  • Capital –  Male
  • State/ Province –   1 only
  • National Game –  Football
  • National Animal –  Yellowfin Tuna
  • Border – Sea Border

9. Sri-Lanka

Important Facts about Sri-Lanka:

  • State/ Province –   9 states
  • National Game –   Volleyball
  • Border – Sea Border

Neighbouring Countries of India – FAQs

1. How many Neighbouring Countries does India have?

India has 9 neighbouring countries – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

2. What are the total Neighbouring countries of India?

India has 9 neighboring countries. Namely Afghanistan, Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, and Myanmars

3. Which is the largest Neighbouring country of India?

The People’s Republic of China is the largest neighbouring country of India.

4. Which is the smallest neighbouring country of India?

Bhutan is the Smallest Neighbouring Country Of India.

5. Which neighbouring country of India has no borders?

Maldives is a country without borders. The physical boundary of Maldives further aggravate by the extreme dispersal of the islands.

Last Updated : 22 Sep, 2023
Like Article
Save Article
Similar Reads
Related Tutorials