Skip to content
Related Articles
Open in App
Not now

Related Articles

List of Speakers of Lok Sabha (1952-2022)

Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article
  • Last Updated : 27 Nov, 2022
Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article

In government exams like SSC, Banking, Railways, etc we find many questions from the general awareness section. this is a very broad section and sometimes questions are very factual. we will cover the General awareness section comprehensively so that students can learn and get most of the questions correct in this section. In this article, we will provide a complete list of Speakers of Lok sabha.

Office of Speaker of Lok Sabha: An Introduction

The office of Speaker of the Lok Sabha is provided for in Article 93 of the Indian Constitution. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the Speaker of the Lok Sabha (House of the People) or the Lower House of the Indian Parliament. 

The President of the Lok Sabha is elected from among all other members of the House of Commons by a simple majority. 

Any Member of Parliament can be elected Speaker, but in most cases, the candidate from the ruling party or the party with a majority wins the position.

Here is the list of Speakers of Lok Sabha:

Serial No.Name of the Speaker of Lok SabhaTenure
1Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar 15 May 1952-27 February 1956
2M. A. Ayyangar 8 March 1956-10 May 1957
11 May 1957-16 April 1962
3Sardar Hukam Singh 17 April 1962-16 March 1967
4Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 17 March 1967-19 July 1969
5Gurdial Singh Dhillon 8 August 1969-19 March 1971
22 March 1971-1 December 1975
6Bali Ram Bhagat 15 January 1976-25 March 1977
7Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 26 March 1977-13 July 1977
8K. S. Hegde 21 July 1977-21 January 1980
9Balram Jakhar 22 January 1980-15 January 1985
16 January 1985-18 December 1989
10Rabi Ray      19 December 1989-9 July 1991   
11Shivraj Patil 10 July 1991-22 May 1996
12P. A. Sangma 23 May 1996-23 March 1998
13G. M. C. Balayogi 24 March 1998-19 October 1999
22 October 1999-03 March 2002
14Manohar Joshi 10 May 2002-02 June 2004
15Somnath Chatterjee 4 June 2004-30 May 2009
16Meira Kumar 30 May 2009-04 June 2014
17Sumitra Mahajan  6 June 2014-16 June 2019
18 Om Birla 18 June 2019- Till present
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Like Article
Save Article
Related Articles

Start Your Coding Journey Now!