Skip to content
Related Articles
Open in App
Not now

Related Articles

List of PM and Deputy PM of India (1947-2022)

Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article
  • Last Updated : 27 Nov, 2022
Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article

In government exams like SSC, Banking, Railways, etc we find many questions from the general awareness section. this is a very broad section and sometimes questions are very factual. we will cover the General awareness section comprehensively so that students can learn and get most of the questions correct in this section. In this article, we will provide a complete list of Prime Ministers and Deputy Prime Ministers of India.

Prime Minister of India: An Introduction

  • Article 75 of the Indian Constitution mentions that a Prime Minister is someone who is appointed by the President. There is no specific procedure for their election or appointment. 
  • Article 74(1) states that there will be a Council of Ministers headed by a Prime Minister who will assist and advise the President. Indian Constitution itself recognizes a Council of Ministers.

List of Prime Ministers of India:

Serial No.Name of the Prime MinisterTenure
1Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru 15th Aug 1947- 27th May 1964
2Gulzarilal Nanda (interim)27th May 1964- 9th Jun 1964
3Lal Bahadur Shastri 9th June 1964 -11th January 1966
4Gulzarilal Nanda 11th January 1966- 24th January 1966
5Indira Gandhi 24th January 1966- 24th March 1977
6Morarji Desai 24th March 1977- 28th July 1979
7Charan Singh 28th July 1979- 14th January 1980
8 Indira Gandhi 14th January 1980- 31st October 1984
9Rajiv Gandhi 31st October 1984- 2nd December 1989
10Vishwanath Pratap Singh 2nd December 1989- 10th November 1990
11Chandra Shekhar 10th November 1990-21st June 1991
12P. V Narasimha Rao 21st June 1991- 16th May 1996
13Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16th May 1996-1st June 1996
14H. D Deve Gowda 1st June 1996- 21st April 1997
15Inder Kumar Gujral 21st April 1997- 18th March 1998
16Atal Bihari Vajpayee 18th March 1998- 22nd May 2004
17Dr Manmohan Singh 22nd May 2004 -17th May 2014
18Narendra Modi 26th May 2014 -23rd May 2019
30th May 2019 -Till present

Deputy Prime Minister: An Introduction

  • The Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of India is the Deputy Chief Executive of the Federal Government of India. The Deputy Prime Minister is the Union’s second senior-most minister and presides over meetings of the Council of Ministers in the Prime Minister’s absence.
  • There is no provision in the Constitution for Deputy Prime Minister.

List of Deputy Prime Ministers:

Serial No.Name of the Deputy Prime MinisterTenure
1Sardar Patel1947–1950
2Morarji Desai1967–1969
3Charan Singh and Jagjivan Ram (jointly) 1979–1979
4Y. B. Chavan 1979–1980
5Devi Lal1989–1990
6Devi Lal1990–1991
7LK. Advani2002–2004
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Like Article
Save Article
Related Articles

Start Your Coding Journey Now!