Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article

Levels of Capability Maturity Model (CMM)

  • Difficulty Level : Basic
  • Last Updated : 30 Mar, 2020

Capability Maturity Model (CMM) is a methodology used to develop, refine maturity of an organizations software development process. It is developed by SIE in mid 1980. It is a process improvement approach.

To assess an organization against a scale of 5 process maturity levels. It Deals with the what processes should be implemented & not so much with the how processes should be implemented. Each maturity level comprises a predefined set of process areas called KDA (Key Process Area), these KDA – Goals, Commitment, Ability, measurement, verification.

Attention reader! Don’t stop learning now. Get hold of all the important CS Theory concepts for SDE interviews with the CS Theory Course at a student-friendly price and become industry ready.


Levels of Capability Maturity Model (CMM) are as following below.

1. Level One : Initial – Work is performed informally.
A software development organization at this level is characterized by AD HOC activities (organization is not planned in advance.).

2. Level Two : Repeatable – Work is planned and tracked.
This level of software development organization has a basic and consistent project management processes to TRACK COST, SCHEDULE, AND FUNCTIONALITY. The process is in place to repeat the earlier successes on projects with similar applications.

3. Level Three : Defined – Work is well defined.
At this level the software process for both management and engineering activities are DEFINED AND DOCUMENTED.

4. Level Four : Managed – Work is quantitatively controlled.

  • Software Quality management – Management can effectively control the software development effort using precise measurements. At this level, organization set a quantitative quality goal for both software process and software maintenance.
  • Quantitative Process Management – At this maturity level, The performance of processes is controlled using statistical and other quantitative techniques, and is quantitatively predictable.

5. Level Five : Optimizing – Work is Based Upon Continuous Improvement.
The key characteristic of this level is focusing on CONTINUOUSLY IMPROVING PROCESS performance.
Key features are:

  • Process change management
  • Technology change management
  • Defect prevention
My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :