Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme

View Discussion
Improve Article
Save Article
  • Last Updated : 29 Jul, 2022
View Discussion
Improve Article
Save Article

What is Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme?

  • Indira Gandhi National disability pension scheme was launched to benefit the disabled in the nation. This is the first step taken by the government to assist the differently abled persons in the country.
  • This scheme was launched by the then UPA government under the prime ministership of Dr. Manmohan Singh in February 2009 by the ministry of rural development which is headed by the central government.
  • According to the census of India 2001, reports say that there are 21.9 million living with disabilities National wide.
  • In order to provide security for this these men, women, and children this scheme was launched.
  • This scheme was launched by upholding article 41 of the Indian constitution which enables the state to provide its residence assistance to citizens in case of unemployment, old age, sickness, and persons with disabilities.
  • Indira Gandhi National disability pension scheme represents a strong effort to provide revenue security, and financial assistance to people within capabilities of below the poverty line.
  • It is to be mainly noted that this came is launched under the National social assistance program (NSAP) which is launched on 15th August 1995.

National Social Assistance Programme:

  • The national social assistance program represents a significant step towards the fulfillment of the directive principles of the state policy in the constitution mentioned in article 41 and 42 recognising the responsibility of the central and state governments in this matter.
  • NSAP 1995 is comprised with three components – National OldAge pension scheme(NOAPS), National family benefits scheme (NFBS), National maternity benefit scheme (NMBS).
  • Pleasantly NSAP comprises of five schemes namely:

Who Implements National Social Assistance Programme:

  • NSAP is implemented in the state and union territories in accordance with the general conditions applicable to all components of the NSAP as well as specific conditions applicable to each component. NSAP scheme is mainly implemented by the social welfare departments in the respective states.
  • NSAP is implemented by the rural development department in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Goa, West Bengal, and Meghalaya.
  • NSAP is implemented by the department of women and child development in Orissa and Puducherry.
  • NSAP is implemented by the department of revenue in Karnataka and Tamilnadu and by the department of labour employment and training in Jharkhand.

The Objective of the Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme:

  • The main object too of this key means to provide financial assistance to disabled people who belong to below poverty line families.
  • Under the scheme persons with disability is noted down from the age group 18 to 79 years who belongs to below poverty line family. During this while, the person is given a pension amount of Rs 400/- of which the central government contributes 300 rupees while the state government contributes 100 rupees.

Eligibilities Required:

  • The person who is applying must be a resident of India.
  • The person should be a physically or mentally disabled person.
  • The age of the person should be between 18 to 79 years.
  • The person should belong to a below-poverty line family.
  • The disability of the person should be more than 40%.
  • The person who is a dwarf is also eligible to apply for the scheme.

Application And Selection Process:

  • Application forms are provided at RTPS counter which is located in the Gram panchayat or municipalities for free of cost. Disabled person who meets the eligibility can collect an application form from the respective Gram Panchayat or municipality and after duly filling the form he has to submit in the same office.
  • Once the applicant submits his application in the RTPS counter, if the application meets the necessary requirements Panchayat Secretary recommends the application to Sub-Divisional Officer.
  • The application is then approved by the sub divisional officer and further recommended it to the Block Development Officer on SSPMIS electronically.
  • If the Block Development Officer accepts and approves the application, the approval order is issued automatically to the mobile number of the beneficiary.

Required Documents For Apply:

  • Residence proof of the applicant, ration card
  • Aadhar card
  • Birth certificate or age proof certificate.
  • Certificate of disability.
  • Bank account details.

Related Frequently Asked Questions and Answers:

1Q. What is RTPS portal or counter?

Answer: RTPS means Right to Public Services is an online portal with which help all the residents of the state can apply for many types of certificates from home.

2Q. How is the amount paid to the beneficiary?

Answer: the amount is paid to the beneficiaries through the DIRECT BENEFIT TRANSFER process in which the amount of pension is directly credited to the beneficiaries’ account through PFMS.

3Q. What is National Family Benefit Scheme?

Answer: through this scheme, a lump sum amount is provided to benefit the households and families below the poverty line if the breadwinner or major wage earner dies in the family.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Recommended Articles
Page :

Start Your Coding Journey Now!