Flip-flop types and their Conversion

Flip-flop is a circuit that maintains a state until directed by input to change the state. A basic flip-flop can be constructed using four-NAND or four-NOR gates.
Types of flip-flops:

  1. RS Flip Flop
  2. JK Flip Flop
  3. D Flip Flop
  4. T Flip Flop

Logic diagrams and truth tables of the different types of flip-flops are as follows:

S-R Flip Flop :


J-K Flip Flop:


D Flip Flop :

D- logic diag
D flip flop

T Flip Flop :

T- logic diag
T flip flop

Conversion for FlipFlops :-



Steps To Convert from One FlipFlop to Other :

Let there be required flipflop to be constructed using sub-flipflop:

  1. Draw the truth table of required flipflop.
  2. Write the corresponding outputs of sub-flipflop to be used from the excitation table.
  3. Draw K-Maps using required flipflop inputs and obtain excitation functions for sub-flipflop inputs.
  4. Construct logic diagram according to the functions obtained.

i) Convert SR To JK FlipFlop


Excitation Functions:

ii) Convert SR To D FlipFlop:


Excitation Functions:
S = D
R = D


This article is contributed by Kriti Kushwaha .

Please write comments if you find anything incorrect, or you want to share more information about the topic discussed above

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up

Improved By : VishalPal

Article Tags :


Please write to us at contribute@geeksforgeeks.org to report any issue with the above content.