Open In App

Difference Between Object-Oriented Testing and Conventional Testing

Last Updated : 18 Jul, 2022
Like Article

Conventional testing is a software testing process that is conducted when the waterfall life cycle is used while developing software. This testing is always performed during the test phase of the software development life cycle, which usually follows the development phase, and after that, it proceeds to the implementation phase. During this testing phase, mainly three kinds of testing will be performed that is first system testing is performed, then integration testing, and finally unit testing is conducted. This testing is an algorithmic technique in which the program is run by the algorithm.

Object-Oriented testing is a software testing process that is conducted to test the software using object-oriented paradigms like, encapsulation, inheritance, polymorphism, etc. The software typically undergoes many levels of testing, from unit testing to system or acceptance testing. Typically, in-unit testing, small “units”, or modules of the software, are tested separately with a focus on testing the code of that module. In higher, order testing (e.g, acceptance testing), the entire system (or a subsystem) is tested with the focus on testing the functionality or external behavior of the system. This testing method is a data-centric technique rather than algorithmic. It is a technique that is based on the hierarchy of classes and well-defined objects. Here, an object is defined as an entity or an instance of a class that is used to store data and send & receive any messages and class can be defined as a group of objects which has common properties.

Difference Between Object-Oriented Testing and Conventional Testing

  Object-Oriented Testing Conventional Testing
1. In object-oriented Testing, a class is considered as a unit. In conventional testing, the module or subroutine, or procedure are considered as a unit.
2. Here, we cannot test a single operation in isolation but rather as part of a class. Here, a single operation of a procedure can be tested.
3. It focuses on composition. It focuses on decomposition.
4. It uses an incremental approach in the testing process. It uses a sequential approach in the testing process.
5. This testing requires at every class level wherein each class is tested individually. This testing is following the waterfall life cycle in its testing process.
6. This testing has a hierarchical control structure. This testing does not have any hierarchical control structure.
7. Top-down or bottom-up integration is possible in this testing. Here, any ordering is not possible to follow.
8. In object-oriented testing, it has unit, integration, validation, and system testing as its levels of testing. Conventional Testing also has the same levels of testing but the approach is different.

Like Article
Suggest improvement
Share your thoughts in the comments

Similar Reads