Skip to content
Related Articles

Related Articles

Difference between AIX and Inferno

Improve Article
Save Article
  • Last Updated : 29 Jul, 2020
Improve Article
Save Article

1. AIX :
AIX is a series of proprietary operating systems which is provided by IBM. AIX stands for Advanced Interactive eXecutive. Initially it was designed for the IBM RT PC RISC workstation and later it was used for various hardware platforms like IBM RS/6000 series, PowerPC-based systems, System-370 mainframes, PS-2 personal computers and Apple Network Server. It is one of the five commercial operating systems that have versions certified to UNIX 03 standard of The Open Group. The first version of AIX was launched in 1986. The latest stable version of AIX is 7.2.

2. Inferno :
Inferno is a distributed operating system which is provided by Vita Nuova Holdings. It is a free operating system. It is written using C and Limbo. Its target systems is NAS, server and embedded systems. It is portable across a broad mix of hardware, networks and environments. The first version of Inferno was launched in 1997. It was developed by Computer Science Research Division at Bell Labs. It is an open source operating system. Its kernel types is monolithic.

Difference between AIX and Inferno :

It was developed by IBM.It was developed by Bell Labs.
It was launched in 1986.It was launched in 1997.
Its target system type is Server, NAS and workstation.Its target system type are NAS, server and embedded systems.
Computer architectures supported are POWER, PowerPC-AS, PowerPC and Power ISA.Computer architectures supported by Inferno are IA-32, PowerPC, SPARC, Alpha and MIPS.
Kernel type is Monolithic with modules.Its kernel type is Monolithic with modules.
Package management is installp and RPM.Package management is MSI or custom installer.
It is owned by IBM.It is owned by Vita Nuova Holdings.
The native APIs are SysV/POSIX.Its native APIs Proprietary.
Preferred license is Proprietary.It has the preferred license of MIT, GNU GPL, GNU LGPL and LPL.
File systems supported are NTFS, FAT, ISO 9660, UDF, HFS+, FATX and HFS.File systems supported by Inferno are Styx/9P2000, kfs, FAT and ISO 9660.

My Personal Notes arrow_drop_up
Related Articles

Start Your Coding Journey Now!