Open In App

Basic Frame Structure of HDLC

Last Updated : 31 Jul, 2020
Like Article

High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) generally uses term “frame” to indicate and represent an entity of data or a protocol of data unit often transmitted or transferred from one station to another station. Each and every frame on link should begin and end with Flag Sequence Field (F). Each of frames in HDLC includes mainly six fields. It begins with a flag field, an address field, a control field, an information field, an frame check sequence (FCS) field, and an ending flag field. The ending flag field of one frame can serve as beginning flag field of the next frame in multiple-frame transmissions.

The basic frame structure of HDLC protocol is shown below :

Size of Different Fields :

Field Name Size (bits)
Flag Field 8 bits
Address Field 8 bits
Control Field 8 or 16 bits
Information Field Variable (not used in some type of HDLC frames)
FCS (Frame Check Sequence) Field 16 or 32 bits
Closing Flag Field 8 bits

Let us understand these fields in details :

  1. Flag Field –
    The flag field is generally responsible for initiation and termination of error checking. In HDLC protocol, there is no start and stop bits. So, the flag field is basically using delimiter 0x7e to simply indicate beginning and end of frame.

    It is an 8-bit sequence with a bit pattern 01111110 that basically helps in identifying both starting and end of a frame. This bit pattern also serves as a synchronization pattern for receiver. This bit pattern is also not allowed to occur anywhere else inside a complete frame.

  2. Address Field –
    The address field generally includes HDLC address of secondary station. It helps to identify secondary station will sent or receive data frame. This field also generally consists of 8 bits therefore it is capable of addressing 256 addresses. This field can be of 1 byte or several bytes long, it depends upon requirements of network. Each byte can identify up to 128 stations.

    This address might include a particular address, a group address, or a broadcast address. A primary address can either be a source of communication or a destination that eliminates requirement of including address of primary.

  3. Control Field –
    HDLC generally uses this field to determine how to control process of communication. The control field is different for different types of frames in HDLC protocol. The types of frames can be Information frame (I-frame), Supervisory frame (S-frame), and Unnumbered frame (U-frame).

    This field is a 1-2-byte segment of frame generally requires for flow and error control. This field basically consists of 8 bits but it can be extended to 16 bits. In this field, interpretation of bits usually depends upon the type of frame.

  4. Information Field –
    This field usually contains data or information of users sender is transmitting to receiver in an I-frame and network layer or management information in U-frame. It also consists of user’s data and is fully transparent. The length of this field might vary from one network to another network.
    Information field is not always present in an HDLC frame.

  5. Frame Check Sequence (FCS) –

    FCS is generally used for identification of errors i.e., HDLC error detection. In FCS, CRC16 (16-bit Cyclic Redundancy Check) or CRC32 (32-bit Cyclic Redundancy Check) code is basically used for error detection. CRC calculation is done again in receiver. If somehow result differs even slightly from value in original frame, an error is assumed.

    This field can either contain 2 byte or 4 bytes. This field is a total 16 bit that is required for error detection in address field, control field, and information field. FCS is basically calculated by sender and receiver both of a data frame. FCS is used to confirm and ensure that data frame was not corrupted by medium that is used to transfer frame from sender to receiver.

Similar Reads

Basic Frame Structure of SDLC
Synchronous Data Link Control (SDLC) is generally linked layer protocol that is used with Systems Network Architecture (SNA) environment. SNA is proprietary networking architecture of IBM that is developed in 1974. SDLC also supports huge variety of typologies and different types of data links. Examples include point-to-point links, multipoint link
3 min read
Difference Between High-level Data Link Control (HDLC) and Point-to-Point Protocol (PPP)
The main difference between High-level Data Link Control (HDLC) and Point-to-Point Protocol (PPP) is that High-level Data Link Control is the bit-oriented protocol, on the other hand, Point-to-Point Protocol is the byte-oriented protocol. Another difference between HDLC and PPP is that HDLC is implemented by Point-to-point configuration and also mu
3 min read
Difference between BISYNC and HDLC features
BISYNC: BISYNC stands for Binary Synchronous Communication. It is a half-duplex link protocol that replaces the SRT which stands for Synchronous transmit-receive. HDLC: HDLC stands for High-Level Data Link Control. It works on the data link layer of the OSI reference model. It supports both connection-oriented and connection less services. Similari
2 min read
Types of HDLC Frames
High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) generally provides flexibility to simply support all options that are possible in various data transfer modes and configurations. To provide flexibility, HDLC basically uses and explains three different types of frames. Type of frame is basically determined by control field of frame. Each type of frame generally
2 min read
Various Types of Transfer Modes in HDLC
High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) is basically data link control protocol that is capable of supporting range of various models of operation or data transfer. A mode in HDLC generally represents relationship among two devices that are involved in an exchange. A mode basically describes who actually controls data link. HDLC communications session
3 min read
Type of Configurations provided by HDLC
High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) is a protocol that is generally developed by the International Organization of Standardization (ISO). HDLC is basically a group of data link layer protocols of the Open System Interconnection (OSI) Model that is required to transmit synchronous data packets or frames among point-to-point nodes. It also provides b
2 min read
Type of Stations for HDLC Protocol
High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) is basically bit-oriented protocol for communication that means it uses bit stuffing to achieve data transparency over very point-to-point and multipoint links in Data Link Layer (DLL). Transparency is basically separation of data from control signals. HDLC was being derived from Synchronous Data Link Control (SD
3 min read
High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) Encapsulation
High-Level Data Link Control (HDLC) basically provides reliable delivery of data frames over a network or communication link. HDLC provides various operations such as framing, data transparency, error detection, and correction, and even flow control. Primary stations simply transmit commands that contain address of secondary stations. The secondary
4 min read
Bluetooth-Frame Structure
Pre-requisite: Bluetooth Bluetooth is a short-range wireless communication technology designed to use in numerous applications. The architecture of Bluetooth defines two types of networks: PiconetScatternet[caption width="800"] [/caption]In this article, we are going to see Bluetooth Frame Structure, the different fields used in Bluetooth frame str
2 min read
Token Ring frame format
Prerequisite – Ethernet Frame Format Topology - Ring topology Transmission - Unidirectional Encoding - Differential Manchester encoding Access control - Token passing Data rates - 4 Mbps, 16 Mbps Token Ring Frame format: Start frame delimiter (SFD) - Alerts each station for the arrival of token(or data frame) or start of the frame. It is used to sy
2 min read
Article Tags :