Open In App
Related Articles

Agile Testing Quadrants

Improve Article
Save Article
Like Article

Agile testing quadrants is consider to be a tool or a manual, designed by the Brain Marick, which divides the whole agile testing methodology into four basic quadrants. Agile Testing Quadrants help the whole team to communicate and deliver a high quality product in no time. With the help of Agile Testing Quadrants the whole testing process can be explained in a very easy to understand language and the whole team can effectively work on the product. 
These Quadrants are: 

  • Quadrant 1: Technology-facing tests that support the team
  • Quadrant 2: Business-facing tests that support the team
  • Quadrant 3: Business-facing tests that critique the product
  • Quadrant 4: Technology-facing tests that critique the product

The quadrant numbering system does NOT imply any order. You don’t work through the quadrants from 1 to 4, in a waterfall style. It’s just an arbitrary numbering. 

Quadrant 1: 

  • Quadrant 1 consists of all the test cases that are technology driven. These are performed in order to support the team.
  • Developers involvement is very important in this quadrant as quality of code is the main focus here.
  • Quadrant 1 is associated with Automated testing, and covers the tests such as Unit tests, Component test, API tests and Web Services testing.
  • Instant feedback is obtained in this quadrant so that quality of code can be improved easily.
  • This quadrant helps to improve the design of the product without affecting its functionality.

Quadrant 2: 

  • Quadrant 2 consists of all the test cases that are business driven and are performed to support team as well as the customers.
  • Most of the projects working starts from this quadrant.
  • The main focus of this quadrant is on the business requirements.
  • The tester is greatly involved with the customer to gather the requirements in order to build test cases accordingly.
  • Quadrant 2 is associated with Functional testing, story testing, prototypes & simulations and pair testing.
  • In this quadrant both manual and automated testing is involved to work on business requirements easily.

Quadrant 3: 

  • Quadrant 3 consists of all the test cases that are business driven and are performed to Critique the product.
  • The main focus of this quadrant is to provide feedback to the Quadrant 1 and Quadrant 2.
  • Manual testing based on tester logical thinking, intuitions and user requirements is done to evaluate the application.
  • Quadrant 3 is associated with Pair testing with customers, Exploratory Testing, Usability Testing, User Acceptance Testing, Collaborative Testing and alpha & beta testing.

Quadrant 4: 

  • Quadrant 4 consists of all the test cases that are technology-driven and are performed to critique the product
  • Quadrant 4 focus mainly on the non-functional requirements such as performance, security, stress, maintainability, stability etc.
  • This quadrant is responsible to deliver the final product to the customer.
  • This quadrant is associated with performance testing, load testing, stress testing, maintainability testing, infrastructure testing, data migration testing, security testing, reliability testing, recovery testing and many more.
Last Updated : 13 Dec, 2021
Like Article
Save Article
Similar Reads